Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Register
McLeskey Lecturers

The McLeskey lectureship is an honor bestowed upon individuals who have demonstrated substantial contributions to medical education and leadership. Each year, the selected McLeskey lecturer presents at the SEA Fall Meeting. This annual endowed lectureship was founded by Charles H. McLeskey, M.D.

Click here to donate to the McLeskey Lectureship.

Below are the past McLeskey lecturers.

Year McLeskey Lecturer
2017 Wiley “Chip” Souba, MD, ScD, MBA
How Physician Educators Lead and Shape Healthcare Transformation
2016 Kevin B. Weiss, MD
Building the Pathway to Better Care through Improved Clinical Learning Environments
2015 David J. Murray, M.D.
The Role of Performance Assessments in Board Certification and Recertification
2014 Neil Mehta, MD, FACP
From Digital Badges to IBM Watson: Trends in Medical Education
2013 Catherine R. Lucey, MD
Medical Education: Part of the Problem and Part of the Solution
2012 Jim Scott, MD
Educating Residents in Healthcare Policy
2011 Richard Dutton, MD, MBA
Using Quality Data to Guide Education
2010 Jeanine P. Wiener-Kronish, MD
Training Anesthesiologists for the Next 30 Years
2009 Frank G. Opelka, MD, FACS
Health System Reform: Moving from Volume to a Value Base
2008 Steven L. Shafer, MD
The Future - How Should We Educate Our Residents for Medical Practice in 2020?
2007 Ronald D. Miller, MD [PDF of Lecture]
The Relationship between Anesthesia Educational Systems and Societal Opportunities and Needs
2006 Douglas R. Bacon, MD, MA
The Future of Academic Anesthesiology
2005 Michael F. Roizen, MD
Anesthesiology in 2025
2004 Roger J. Eltringham, MB, ChB – UNITED KINGDOM
Education for Anesthesia on an International Scale


The SEA is proud to be a member-driven organization, dedicated to the teaching and development of future anesthesiologists, and to the advancement of those who educate them.

Contact Info:

Society for Education in Anesthesia
6737 W. Washington St, Suite 4210 • Milwaukee, WI 53214 • (414) 389-8614